St. Marys Tower

St. Mary’s Tower

The Island of Comino which lies between Malta and Gozo, boasts of its own tower built by the Order of Saint John  in 1618 as part of a group of watchtowers from which warning signals were sent to the sister islands in case of impending danger from approaching seacraft.

Until 2002 the tower, known both as Comino Tower and Saint Mary’s Tower, was used by the Armed Forces of Malta and is now in the protective hands of Din L-Art Helwa, a non-governmental, non-profit, voluntary organisation founded in 1965 to safeguard Malta’s cultural heritage and natural environment.

Scroll to Top